Rifling my proto-blog

My WordPress dashboard indicates that, as of today, I have published 200 posts on Makurrah’s Blog since I moved over from Typepad in early January of this year.  While I like the look, the roundness of that number as a minor milestone, I also know that it is inaccurate, in that five of those 200 posts themselves contain multiple entries from an earlier blog, fledgling, that I migrated to WP in early 2010.  And although I don’t often return to that material, I am on occasion prompted to rifle my little proto-blog to retrieve a source or a citation.

I recall reading on one of the blogs-that-try-to-help-bloggers that I used to consult more than I do now that it was not only perfectly okay, but in fact a great idea, to re-blog one’s earlier posts as a way of calling attention to contributions or interventions that readers might have missed.  Since there aren’t many citations that remind me so forcefully about the crux of this blog’s project (and my work more generally), and since I am confident that I (if not all of my readers) will experience its re-reading as something akin to splashing cold water on my face, I will take my chances and reproduce here a post that was originally published on fledgling on 9/29/2009  under the title “Hectic Presumptions.”  Should you desire, you can find it on this blog by scrolling through “fledgling‘s archive, September 2009.”  Oh, and don’t miss the October (x2), November and December files.

09/29/2009  Hectic presumptions 

In the belief that thinking can proceed in part via stepping-stones of thought made accessible by those who have gone before, let me quote (as I have more than once) an account provided by my friend and mentor Werner Hamacher in an incisive essay entitled “Journals, Politics”:  

Many years ago – it might already be twenty – Max Horkheimer recommended a little experiment during a television interview. He suggested reading newspapers a few weeks or months after their publication. With this he bent over to pick up a stack of rather gray papers that lay next to his chair. I cannot recall his comments on this piece of advice. But one can imagine that the effect he had in mind was supposed to be both philosophical and political. Indeed, the effect of this small postponement on the reader, on his perception of time and on his attitude to news and published opinion, should be considerable. The reader of these old papers will notice that the imperatives, attractions and threats heralded in them reveal themselves as such only to the degree that they no longer directly affect him. The judgments that the newspapers imposed on him at another time can now be dismissed as hectic presumptions. In the future he will no longer so easily obey the regulations of the newspapers and their time…. Horkheimer’s is a piece of political advice that looks forward to the suspension of coercion and to its transformation for another way of life.  

Users, students and teachers of social media stand to gain, philosophically and politically, by conducting for themselves an analogous experiment that would introduce a small postponement in the hectic reverse chronology that governs these media, and exercises its own forms of coercion.  

Posted at 12:01 PM in Web/Tech, Weblogs | Permalink

**********

Once more, a sense of re-loading, from plentiful ammunition, for my argument about the realist ideology that underpins many of the claims currently being made for the “real-time” Web.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Culture, History and historiography, Journalism, Media, Reading and writing, Tech, Weblogs

Leave a Reply

